Reviews (Nessie)

Glimmerglass                                                           --- Jenna Black  
4.5 / 5 STARS          8 / 10 STARS         
          Dana Hathaway is an average teen with an alcoholic mother. One day she decides to go to Avalon to find her father, and just as she arrives everything comes tumbling down. It turns out she isn't just an average teen like she thought, she is a Faeriewalker. A rare person who can take technology into Faerie realm and magic into the mortal realm. She is being pursued by someone who wants her dead, and she is dragged into the world of politics. She meets Kimber and her hot brother Ethan, who she doesn't think she has a chance with... until she actually does get a chance with him. Dana struggles between a normal world and a chaotic world where she just wants to fit in... not knowing if her life will ever be normal again.
           Jenna Black's first book in her Faeriewalkers series is really good. It kept me wondering and wanting more. It had an excellent plot and many suspenseful moments. I was so hooked on the book that I finished it in less than 2 hours. Ultimately, one of the best books I have read.
Royally Jacked                                                        --- Niki Burnham
3.5 / 5 STARS          7 / 10 STARS
          Valerie's life takes a turn when her mother announces that she is gay and leaving Valerie's father. Then Valerie's father tells her that he has a new job offer in a European country as . She decides to stay with her father, leaving behind her friends and a potential boyfriend. As she arrives she decides it was a mistake to leave her hometown... until she meets the prince.
          This book was a little fast paced, but overall, really good. The author wrote it really well, but I wish some of it had more details and explanations. I loved Valerie's character, because in some ways she reminds me of me, and being able to relate to the characters is an excellent thing for an author to do. All in all it was an okay book, but it needed something more. 
Oh.My.Gods                                                           --- Tera Lynn Childs
5 / 5 STARS          8 / 10 STARS
          When Phoebe's mother returns from Greece, she comes back with an unexpected surprise for Pheobe., a new husband. Phoebe's mother has decided to have them move to the island where her new husband is from making Pheobe leave behind her friends and the life she has known. Now she must attend the uberexclusive academy, where admission depends on pedigree. This would be ancestry from Zeus, Hera and other Greek Gods. Now she has to try to fit in at this new school where all the students are descendants from the Gods.
          Phoebe's character is great. I really loved this book because it felt so realistic and thought out. I love Greek mythology and even for those who aren't really into it will love this book anyway because there is a lot of drama and the plot is really good.
Flirt Club (teen)                              --- Cathleen Daly
3.5 / 5 STARS          6 / 10 STARS
          Isabelle and Annie (a.k.a. Cisco and The Bean)–– two middle schoolers start a "flirt club," so they can succeed with their romance attempts.
          This did not feel like it was a teen book. I felt like I was reading a book about two highschool sophmores. In our society now, I guess middle schoolers really are like high schoolers. It was an okay book. It is in letter format, where the two girls are having conversations. There are a few parts where you can tell they are immature, but overall it is an ok read.

The Body Finder                                                       --- Kimberly Derting
4.5 / 5 STARS         7 / 10
          Violet Ambrose has been able to sense the dead bodies echoes, as she calls them, of those who have been murdered, and she can feel imprints on the killers since she was a little girl. It usually led her to dead animals, but now that there is a serial killer terrorizing nearby towns, Violet is hearing the echoes of these girls who have been murdered. As she juggles her feelings about her bestfriend Jay and her "power" to sense the echoes, she realizes she may be the only one who can stop him, but as she gets closer and closer to discovering the killer... is she becoming the prey to the killer.
          This book is definitely worth reading. It is suspenseful and thrilling. Violets character is strong, Kimberly Derting did very well writing it. However, I wish there was less of Violet and Jay's growing fondness of each other and more action. I don't normally see books about someone being able to sense dead body, so it really open my mind to such a thing.
Dreamland                                                                --- Sarah Dessen
5 / 5 STARS          8 / 10 STARS
          On the day of Caitlin's sixteenth birthday her older sister Cassandra runs off with her boyfriend. Now Caitlin is drowned with the expectations of her family, the expectations that used to belong to Cass. As Caitlin is searching for herself, she meets Rogerson, a strange boy who she seems to really connect with. With all the stuff with her family building up behind her she is dragged into a dream land where drugs and violence are dominant, losing hopes of finding herself.
          Wow! Sarah Dessen is an excellent Young Adult Writer. She captures young adult characters so perfectly. How many girls put up with abusive relationships? This is an excellent book, that expresses how a teen truly feels most of the time, and many of the things they have to put up with in their everyday life. If you want to read a book that is truthful and interesting, this is the one to pick up.

After                                                                          --- Amy Efaw
4 / 5 STARS          7 / 10 STARS
          Devon Davenport, an A-student was: Responsible, Hardworking, and Mature. One day, her whole life comes crashing down. A baby is found in the trash one morning outside of where Devon lives, the same morning Devon decides to stay home sick. As the investigators search the crime seen they discover, that this baby that was found in the trash is Devons'. Now the only word that can be used to describe Devon is: Attempted Murderer.
          Amy Efaw did a great job writing this book. Not only do we see Devon as an attempted murderer, but we can feel empathy towards her, because of how Amy brings in her life story. The writing style is perfect, but it felt like there should have been more about how everything began. Life changing, is probably one of the best ways to describe this book.
The Lonely Hearts Club                                                 --- Elizabeth Eulberg
Wrecked                                                                               --- E.R. Frank
Hex Hall                                                                                --- Rachel Hawkins

Firelight                                                                                 --- Sophie Jordan
Vanish                                                                                     --- Sophie Jordan
5 / 5 STARS          9 / 10 STARS!
Back Cover: To save the life of the boy she loves, Jacinda exposed an ancient secret. Now that she's back within the protection of her kind, she is seen as a traitor. Even worse, though, is the knowledge that she can never see Will again. But when, against all odds, she has the chance to be reunited with him, is the cost too high? Or will she risk everything for love?
With its fiery romance, page-turning action, and captivating supernatural world, this tale of unbearable choices is perfect for fans of Shiver, Fallen and Evermore.

This is definitely a book to read....Wow! I loved it. Jacinda's story just gets better as it progresses. So many heart pounding moments that I felt like crying! The first one I felt had more to it, but this one definitely had it's moments.
The ending left me wanting more. I can't wait to read the next book. So happy I had a chance to read this uncorrected proof. It should be hitting shelf's September 2011. If you loved Firelight you should definitely read the second part in the trilogy.


The Betrayal of Natalie Hargrove                              --- Lauren Kate
Wondrous Strange                                                            --- Lesley Livingston
Once a Witch                                                                        --- Carolyn MacCullough
Angelfire                                                                                 --- Courtney Allison Moulton
Faking 19                                                                                --- Alyson Noel
Evermore                                                                               --- Alyson Noel
Killing Britney                                                                      --- Sean Olin
I Heart You, You Haunt Me                                           --- Lisa Schroeder
Wicked Game (Not YA)                               --- Jeri Smith-Ready
Blue is for Nightmares                                                      --- Laurie Faria Stolarz
Deadly Little Secrets                                                         --- Laurie Faria Stolarz
Scarlet Moon                                                                        --- Debbie Viguie